Ulm | Germany

Commander of The Joint Support and Enabling Command

The Joint Support and Enabling Command (JSEC) is a static operational headquarters with multinational personnel directly subordinate to the Supreme Allied Commander Europe (SACEUR) and his Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE) in Mons, Belgium.
In peacetime, JSEC's mission is to contribute to Enablement and help the Alliance set the theatre for reinforcement by forces, if and when required.
During crisis and conflict, JSEC will coordinate reinforcement by forces, and the subsequent sustainment.
In effect, JSEC is to operationalize a multi-domain network in SACEUR's Area of Responsibility (AOR) to facilitate the enablement of the Alliance in order to reinforce and sustain military forces in the Euro-Atlantic area with a 360 degree approach.
This requires an efficient network of contacts integrating all relevant authorities, civilian, governmental, and non-governmental institutions of NATO and EU members.
JSEC has a coordinating role and it will bring sovereign nations together in order to create a comprehensive network of stakeholders, transcending national borders within the Alliance's boundaries.
JSEC is also the enablement and sustainment domain advisor to SACEUR.
As such, JSEC will need to provide SACEUR with all relevant information in this functional area to support strategic-level decision-making.
This will be done through the establishment of an AOR-wide logistical operational picture with a 360 degree approach, in order to contribute to the overall situational awareness and the common operational picture.
Established in 2018, JSEC reached its Full Operational Capability in September 2021, which entails the headquarters' full readiness.
Nearly three hundred Allied soldiers and civilians work in the headquarters, all under the command of German Lieutenant General Alexander Sollfrank.
They come from Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Türkiye, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.


Stuttgarter Straße 199
89081 Ulm

Public Affairs

Stuttgarter Straße 199
89081 Ulm